The second installment of Introducing the Leadership Team.

Blake Relle

(Website and Social Media Coordinator)

Where are you from or where did you grow up? Care to share a fun fact about your hometown?

I was born in Gretna, Louisiana. Mel Ott, who played right field for the New York Giants from 1926 to 1947, was born in Gretna.

23

Where did you attend school?

I went to graduate school at LSU in Baton Rouge.

Best advice to a new student or early professional?

Get involved in archival organizations. Go to conferences in your region as well as outside of your region in order to meet people and hear their ideas. Volunteer at a local museum or an archive in order to gain experience.

Also, don’t be afraid to walk up to someone and say hello. I attended the Society of American Archivist Conference when it was in New Orleans in 2013. I decided to wear my yellow pants to the conference. I had a person stop me and say I like your yellow pants. In 2016, I gave a presentation at the Mid Atlantic Regional Archival Conference. When I was at the conference reception, the person who stopped me in 2013 was at the reception. So, I walked up to him in order to say hello and mentioned the SAA meeting and my yellow pants. He remembered the encounter. His name was Geof Huth. A good networking tip: wear yellow pants.

How/why did you get into this field?

I obtained my bachelor degree in accounting right before the economy clasped in 2007. I could not find an accounting job. My family kept telling me to go work in an archive or a museum since I liked history and have researched my family history. I kept saying no. Than one day in 2012, I saw the light and said I think I will go work in an archive. So here I am.

If you were offered a free plane ticket to anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

I would fly to Italy. I went to Italy in the summer of 2012 and 2014. Both times, I fell in love with the country the moment I got off the plane.

What was the last book that you read or movie you watched that you’d recommend?

The last book I read was Saving Italy: The Race to Rescue a Nation’s Treasures from the Nazis by Robert M Edsel.

Your last meal on earth?

For an appetizer, I would have freshly sliced tomatoes brushed slightly with olive oil, a touch of pepper and salt, and a bit of cheese. For the main course, I would have a bowl of homemade pasta with tomato gravy and meatballs served with hot bread and parmesan cheese.  For desert, I would eat a bowl of homemade gelato with two brownies as well as eat a homemade almond filled croissant. I would than wash it all down with a large cappuccino. Did you think the Italian loving American would give you a non-Italian meal?

12

 

Thoughts?

