The sixth installment of Introducing the Leadership Team

Betts Coup

(Member at Large)

67Where are you from or where did you grow up? Care to share a fun fact about your hometown?

I am originally from Wichita, Kansas, which is basically the city most geographically central in the United States… and where Pizza Hut was born.

Where did you attend school?

I went to Carleton College, Northfield, Minnesota, for undergrad, and New York University for my first master’s. I’m completing my MLIS at Simmons currently.

What was the last book that you read or movie you watched that you’d recommend?

Americanah, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Tips for getting through job search and/or grad school?

Be open-minded, but at the same time, make sure you’re thinking about what you want out of a role. You need to want a position for more than just, say, having a job in order to enjoy it and not burn out. As for grad school, always remember the end result–a job in a field you enjoy–and let that be the focus.

How/why did you get into this field?

I finished my first master’s in 2009, and worked in a museum in grant-funded research positions for about 18 months–which was enough time for me to realize that wasn’t the atmosphere in which I would flourish. I came to the archives field because it appeals to my interest in the intersections of culture and history, and have enjoyed expanding my knowledge and understanding of different types of histories, especially while working at a medical archives.

Your last meal on earth?

Breakfast tacos from El Chilito in Austin or sushi from The Lobster Place in New York.

Thoughts?

