The Seventh Installment of Introducing the Leadership Team

Mylynda Dyana Gill

Member at Large

12923340_10154152505475739_6342527103665697327_nMy full name is Mylynda Dyana Gill.  I am a twin and I have a younger sister.  I was raised by a single mother. I am in the first generation of my family to graduate with a bachelor’s  degree, the first in my family to attempt to get a master’s degree.  Ex-military brat, I have lived in England and I have lived all over New England. I consider my hometown to be Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire.  If I could go anywhere I would go to England. I have family there and I
have only returned once since my sixth birthday. I miss it there, my family, the culture, the history. My favorite book is “The  Inheritance” by Lousia May Alcott, her first novel which was discovered in an archive only a few decades ago. I find it fascinating that there are  potential lost treasures in other archives waiting to be discovered.

I started in the archives because my English class went to the archives to  examine World War II love letters. I transcribed two letters by the end of
class, my peers could only transcribe half a letter. I was offered a job at  the end of the class period. I have been working in the field for two and a
half years. I have processed collections, taught classes,  digitized collections and upload them online. I start Simmons in the fall. I have
presented at two NEA conferences. I have worked at Keene State College Archives, and interned at Dartmouth College. The advice I would give young
professionals like me is to go to conferences, try to present, network.  Also find a mentor or two. Mentors are priceless, they can provide
opportunities that young professionals may not be able to receive on their own. I like teaching with materials from the archives the most. There is
nothing like seeing my students eye when they realize the piece of history, whether it is a love letter from World War II, a passport from a Jew who
escaped the Holocaust, an order from George Washington, or a key to a city presented to Doris “Granny D” Haddock. It makes an impact on them to hold history in their hands, see it with their own eyes. The thing I don’t like about the archives is that sometimes when I am working on a project, I can
go an entire day without interacting with another person, but things need to be processed or digitized. However overall, I love working in the
archives, I believe in preserving the past to teach the present for our future.

Thoughts?

